LEAP Cares: February 16, 2019

20190220 202428

Front row - new LEAP scholars Cliford Macasuhot and Mae Ann Banawa together with their parents Arnold Macasuhot and Rosela Banawa. Back row: LEAP Chair Jinky Aguinaldo, NTC Dean Marlyn Mabalot, Organizational Sustainability chair Frances Peria and her deputy Rose Escueta

On February 16, 2019, Chair Jinky Aguinaldo, Rose Escueta and I identified two first year students of Bachelor of Science in Office Administration at the National Teachers College (NTC) to be the next set of scholars whose college education LEAP will sponsor until they graduate. They are Cliford Macasuhot and Mae Ann Banawa, both 19 years old.

From among four NTC students we interviewed, we selected Cliford and Mae Ann based on their academic standing, their goals and career plans and even their living circumstances. All four candidates came with their parents, and it broke our hearts that we can only accommodate two of them. We took comfort in the thought that the two other candidates will find scholarship from other benefactors.

Cliford and Mae Ann gave their commitment to focus on their studies and continue to strive hard to do well and make their parents and LEAP proud. Their respective parents in turn committed to support them and help in any way they can.

This early, we in the Organizational Sustainability thank the members of LEAP for making it possible to continue with our work of supporting our student scholars. We are confident that our scholars will help sustain our profession in the future.